Privacy does not live here

Privacy  does  not  live  here  !

 

Once upon a time it did , but no more

 

A time when people lived on the ground and visited each other in their offices to conduct business or in their homes for small talk

 

Then around 1981 , came IBM PC ( and clones called, “ IBM Compatibles “ ) , followed by Internet around 1990

 

That started the deluge !

 

  • E-Mailing / Messaging Apps ( one – to – one / one – to – many )

 

  • Search Engines / Job Portals

 

  • Social Media sites / E Commerce sites / Aggregator sites of every type

 

  • Hardware ( Smart phones / Tablets / Laptops / Wrist Bands )

 

  • Spiders / Crawlers / Cookies / Mobile Apps / Chat Bots

 

  • Headsets ( AR / VR ) / Hepatic Gloves / Holograms / Google Glasses

 

  • Artificial Intelligence / Cloud / IP V.6

 

  • Robots ( to give me medicines or keep me company in 85th year of life )

 

 

And , with or without my permission , these “ apparitions / contraptions “ captured – and made available for everyone to view – EVERYTHING  about me ( – for monetary considerations or in exchange for INFORMATION about the users ! )

 

This was information about me , which , until their arrival , was known to only a few .

 

Information such as :

 

  • Who I am ( name )

 

  • Where and when, I was born / who were my parents

 

  • Where I grew up / where I live currently

 

  • Do I live in a rented place or in an owned flat

 

  • What Schools / Colleges I attended ( – and degrees I acquired )

 

  • What Companies I worked for and salaries I got

 

  • How I travel to work ( own vehicle or public transport )

 

  • Where I go for my holidays / what books I read

 

  • Who I married and who are my children ( – and how many )

 

  • If divorced , how much alimony I pay and to whom

 

  • Where I invest my money ( Banks – Funds – Equity etc )

 

  • How much I have borrowed from whom and for how long

 

  • My Credit ranking ( including my spending history / card wise – wallet wise )

 

  • What are my eating ( food ) preferences and the restaurants I visit

 

  • What I do for entertainment ( Music / Movies / Videos )

 

  • What clothes I wear and how often do I buy

 

  • Who are my friends and how often I phone / text them / meet them

 

  • What ailments I suffer from and what medicines I take

 

  • What minor offences ( traffic ) or crimes that I have committed

 

  • What elections I have contested ( won and lost )

 

  • Who are my doctors / lawyers / brokers / agents etc

 

  • What web sites I visit and how often and for how long

 

  • What do I search on the Net / What RSS feeds I subscribe to

 

  • What TV channels I watch and Radio Stations that I listen to

 

  • Every photo of mine ever taken ( selfie or otherwise )

 

 

 

  • Every phone call that I ever made or received

 

 

  • Every Email / Text message that I ever sent or received

 

  • Every blog / comment that I ever posted on the Web

 

 

  • Every face-to-face communication that I engaged in

 

And when that ( dreaded ? ) SINGULARITY arrives ( when Computer / Internet / Artificial Intelligence combination , is expected to get smarter than the human beings ) , expect the following :

 

  • Even things about me , which I may have left out in the above list , will be known to the GOD( Give Our Data ) residing in the CLOUD (no need for any permission )

 

  • That O3 ( Omnipresent / Omniscient / Omnipotent ) , will dictate my life

 

  • Hopefully , O3 will be governed by Issac Asimov’s “ 3 Laws of Robotics “

 

  • ARIHANT will ensure the survival of HUMANITY

 

https://myblogepage.blogspot.com/2016/10/fast-forward-to-future-3-f.html

 

Postman does not knock at my door anymore

 

He knows , “ Privacy does not live here “

 

22  July  2017

www.hemenparekh.in / blogs

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

